Community Advisory Committee

The Community Advisory Committee is the Hazelwood Health Study’s peak advisory body. Its purpose is to ensure the study hears directly from and works in partnership with local community members and key stakeholders in undertaking the research program.

The committee meets regularly and includes members from the Latrobe Valley and Sale communities selected as part of open expressions of interest. The latter was selected as the comparison community for adult health assessments.

To ensure the study hears from a wide spread of people, committee membership is for a fixed term.

We are currently recruiting community members to join the Community Advisory Committee.  To download the application form, please click here

For more information on joining the committee, please click here. 

The committee also has organisational representatives from Latrobe Valley and Sale-based health and community service providers, Federation University (Gippsland) and local government who were nominated by their boards.

The full list of current members is as follows:

Community members 
Shane Wilson
Carolyne Boothman
Geoff Duffell
Vicki Hamilton OAM
Denise Collis

Organisational representatives

Central Gippsland Health Service Ruth Churchill
Federation University Australia Kate Moore
Latrobe City Council Kellie O’Callaghan
Latrobe Community Health Service Mark Biggs
Latrobe Regional Hospital Chelsea Caple
Wellington Shire Council Sharon Houlihan

The meeting minutes can be downloaded below:

A copy of the code of conduct for the Community Advisory Committee is available here and a copy of the Terms of Reference is available here.